Life’s a Journey, Enjoy the ride.

Well, I mean isn’t it? We’re always aiming for something, it’s constant trial and error, the journey is a bit rough, but we keep going. From the beginning my dad taught me that I can handle myself, I mean, granted I’m not on my own, I currently have people I can count on if I needed them. But, if it came down to it, I know I can handle everything on my own, no matter how hard it is I know I’m strong enough. How many of you have ever physically been lost? How many of you panicked? Today while my grandmother was driving home she wasn’t 100% sure of where she was going, and she instantly started freaking out, and I understand that for some people it’s normal. All I can say is thank god I am not one of those people!!

My dad ALWAYS told me (and continues to remind me) that it is physically impossible to get lost in the United States. For the past week or so I’ve been back in my hometown (over 1,000 miles from where I currently live), granted I grew up here, but I’ve never drove here, and it’s been years since I’ve visited. With this being said, I have no clue how to get around, especially since there is A TON of roadwork going on right now, I’ve also never had to drive around such a big city. I’ve managed to get myself “lost” a couple of times, but no biggie, I’ll eventually figure out where I’m going.

I try to look at the positive side when I find myself completely out of my comfort zone, my dad’s voice clicks on in the back of my head “relax, you can always find your way back” and I know it’s not a big deal. So what if I get a little off track, or I’m a little late to wherever I’m going, I’m really not worried about things. I actually don’t mind getting off track because I like discovering new things by accident. This goes especially for when I’m hiking, I have absolutely no problem going off the trail, because even if I was to get lost for a couple days I like to think I have enough survival skills that I’d be ok, would I be absolutely exhausted? Yes. Hungry? I’m sure. A nervous wreck? Maybe, but I doubt it.

Anyway, today is my dad’s birthday and I want to say thank you to him. Thank you for being a great dad, teaching me that I can be whoever I want to be if I get off my lazy ass and do something about it.  Thank you for just being there for me when I needed someone, we may not always get along the greatest but you’ll always be my dad and I love you. So when you’re reading this as I’m out doing whatever life has planned for me know I’ll always come back home, that I’ll always count on my dad. I’m always going to need you, even if it’s just to put in my air conditioner because it’s too heavy for me to lift it, I’ll find something so you don’t feel left out.

Because of my dad I know my life will be full of enjoyable things, I won’t ever have to worry about my life being dull. I know I’ll always be able to take care of myself even if I have to work three jobs and never sleep, I can handle it. I know I can’t ever let myself waste life, it would be an absolute tragedy for someone to waste my life like that and I know it, because I have a purpose and I’m meant to find it. If I have to drive thousands of miles to get to it, then so be it, challenges are life’s way of telling you that you’re strong, just keep going.

Leave a Reply

