I’m already a mom.

Recently I’ve got a lot of the “oh aren’t you ready for a relationship?”, “I bet you can’t wait to have kids!” and when I tell them I have no plans of ever having kids they look at me as if, because of this small thing, I’m inhuman. Met with “Oh you’ll change your mind” and “It’ll just happen!” constantly I usually just slink away. How many times do I have to say that I’m never having kids? Why is that such a hard thing to believe, seriously?

I don’t like human children, there, I said it. I find them loud, unruly, dirty little things. Does that mean I’m cruel to kids? No. I actually get along with them really well, but I don’t like them either. Yes, my dogs are just as bad, they’re loud, dirty, chaotic little jerks, however, at the end of the day I can take them for a walk or hike and they’re perfectly happy. Where as a child just never quits!

I love my dogs, they’re plenty enough children for me. I will never not own dogs, and my dogs will always come first. That’s just how it is, and how it always will be. I am not going to have kids, ever, under any circumstances. Babies make me uncomfortable, I’ll stick to puppies.

My dogs are my partners, my teammates, my best friends. I owe these dogs my life, and I will continue to try my best to repay them, if I have to give something up so that my dogs can have something better, so be it. I love my dogs so much more than anything in this world, they have given me so many things. They’ve given me so many chances to find myself, to make myself a better person. Yes, they shit a lot, require a lot of grooming, attention, and there are so many times that they leave me absolutely broke, but isn’t that what being a mom is about? Loving something even when it takes so much from you ; because it gives you so many things that are absolutely invaluable? I am a mother, just because my children happen to have four legs and fur instead of being like a human child doesn’t make me any less of a mother.

I cry when they hurt, I smile when they’re happy, and I stick by their side no matter what happens. My dogs are my children, and are the only children that will ever live in my house, and I wouldn’t wish it any other way. So, if it offends you that I don’t want kids, or that I don’t want your child with it’s running nose and gross hands touching me, or that I really don’t feel comfortable holding your baby, then that’s just too bad. I enjoy seeing that my friends are happy with their children, and I don’t mind sharing that joy, and being happy for them, but I ask that they do the same for me and share in my happiness that my children(dogs) bring me.

Leave a Reply

